also audits the accounts of various Crown corporations and other organizations. The minister of finance acts as spokesman in Parliament for the auditor general.

Office of the Chief Electoral Officer. This office was established in 1920 under the provisions of the Dominion Elections Act, now the Canada Elections Act (RSC 1970, c.14, 1st Supp.) as amended by the Election Expenses Act (SC 1973-74, c.51), the Statute Law (Status of Women) Amendment Act, 1974 (SC 1974-75-76, c.66) and the Judges Act (SC 1974-75-76, c.48), and is responsible for the conduct of all federal elections as well as the elections of members of the Northwest Territories Council and of the Yukon Territory Council. In addition, it conducts any vote taken under the Canada Temperance Act. The chief electoral officer is responsible directly to the House of Commons, the president of the Privy Council acting as spokesman for him in the Cabinet.

Office of the Co-ordinator Status of Women. The office received official status in April 1976 by order-incouncil PC 1976-779. The co-ordinator reports to and assists the minister responsible for the status of women; monitors the activities of federal departments to ensure that they are in line with the policy of promoting equality between men and women; and co-ordinates new initiatives to improve the status of women within the federal government. The office, located in Ottawa, carries on work begun in 1970 in the Privy Council Office.

Office of the Representation Commissioner. The office was established in 1963 under the provisions of the Representation Commissioner Act (RSC 1970, c.R-6). After each decennial census, the representation commissioner is responsible for preparing maps showing the population distribution in each province and setting out alternative proposals respecting the boundaries of electoral districts. These maps are supplied to the 11 electoral boundaries commissions (one for each province and one for the Northwest Territories) established under the provisions of the Electoral Boundaries Readiustment Act (RSC 1970, c.F.2). The representation commissioner is a member of each of the commissions. The secretary of state acts as spokesman for the office in the Cabinet and the House of Commons.

Panarctic Oils Ltd. This corporation is a consortium of mining and oil and gas companies, individuals and Petro-Canada Exploration Inc., formed in 1967 to explore for oil and gas in the Arctic. Panarctic Oils Ltd. is not a Crown corporation and does not report to Parliament.

Patent Appeal Board (Patent Appeal Board Canada). This is an advisory body established in 1970 under the Patent Act (RSC 1970, c.P-4). Its function is to review final rejections of applications for patents of invention when applicants request review, to conduct hearings to consider arguments of applicants, and to make recommendations to the commissioner of patents for ultimate disposition of the applications. It acts in a similar capacity with delegated powers from the minister of consumer and corporate affairs under the Industrial Design Act (RSC 1970, c.1-8) to consider final rejections of industrial design applications made by the registrar of copyright and industrial design. The board consists of a chairman, a vice-chairman and one other member.

Pension Appeals Board, This board, established under the Canada Pension Plan Act (RSC 1970, c.C-5) hears appeals under the Canada Pension Plan and under certain provincial pension plans. It also hears appeals from certain decisions of the umpire under the Unemployment Insurance Act (SC 1971, c.48) as amended. The board consists of two judges of the Federal Court of Canada or of a superior court of a province appointed as chairman and vice-chairman, and not less than one and not more than eight other persons, each of whom must be a judge of the federal court or of a superior, district or county court of a province. For purposes of appeals under the Canada Pension Plan, the board reports to Parliament through the minister of national health and welfare.

Pension Review Board (Pension Review Board Canada). The board was created under the minister of veterans affairs by the amendments to the Pension Act 1971 (SC 1970-71, c.31). Further amendments were made May 12, 1977, by the Act to Amend the Pension Act. Composed of a chairman, deputy chairman and five other members, the board is an independent and autonomous body that hears appeals in the Ottawa region from pension applicants dissatisfied with decisions of an entitlement board or two members of the Canadian Pension Commission under Section 67. The board is also the responsible body when matters of interpretation of the acts are at issue.

Petro-Canada. On July 30, 1975 the Petro-Canada Act (SC 1974-75-76, c.61) established Petro-Canada as a Crown corporation to increase the supply of energy available to Canadians, to assist the government in formulating its national energy policy and to increase the Canadian presence in the petroleum industry. The corporation consists of a board of directors composed of a chairman, president and not more than 13 other persons appointed by the Governor-in-Council. Its head office is at Calgary, Alta. The corporation reports to Parliament through the minister of energy, mines and resources.